Speed the key for Heathcote District: Collins

26/06/2018 // by admin

HDFL captain Tim Hill.
Nanjing Night Net

HEATHCOTE District Football League coach Murray Collins believes speed will be the key to a victory over Horsham District on Saturday.

For the second time in three years it will be the battle of the HDFL’s when Heathcote District and Horsham District meet at the Horsham City Oval on Saturday.

“Every one of those 23 boys selected are all very keen to represent the league and all of them are in good form, and have gelled well together as a group,” Collins said on Thursday.

“The side we’ve picked has plenty of run and pace and is highly-skilled, but there’s also some key talls in there that we will be able to play through.

“But there’s no doubt the key for us will be our pace and we’ll try to run them off their legs with plenty of midfield rotations.”

Collins expects to use upto a dozen players through the midfield rotation, including Stacy Fiske, Jarrod Findlay, Marcus Angove, Carl Thiesz, Linton Jacobs, Jye Keath, Ryan Alford, Gavin Bowles, Jake Truefeldt, Ryan Hocking, Brad Perry and Koe Ngawati.

As well as plenty of players to run through the midfield, the defence also stands out with Matt Riordan, Matthew Jefferies, former LBU coach Kahl Oliver, Chris Black and captain Tim Hill.

Hill has been awarded the HDFL captaincy in what’s his first season in the competition at Mount Pleasant.

“Hilly is very experienced and leads by example,” Collins said.

“He’s not one to rant and rave, he’ll set the standards for the rest of the boys to follow.”

Oliver and Keath are vice-captains of the team.

When the two leagues last met in 2011, Heathcote defeated Horsham by 27 points, 16.16 (112) to 12.13 (85).

Fiske was best for Heathcote that game, with only he and Bowles members of that winning team that will play on Saturday.

“Fiskey has been a really good player for us over the past couple of years, so he’s one we will be looking to give us leadership in the middle,” Collins said.

Heathcote lost to Nepean by 33 points last year, while Horsham was a 30-point winner over Loddon Valley in 2013.



B: RyanAlford Matt Riordan Jye Keath

Hb: Tim Hill Kahl Oliver MatthewJefferies

C: Marcus Angove Carl ThieszLinton Jacobs

Hf: Jake Truefeldt Hadleigh Sirett Ryan Hocking

F: Caillum Brady Matt McEvoyTrent Bacon

Foll: Lochlan Sirrett Stacy FiskeJarrod Findlay

Inter: Gavin Bowles Chris BlackJoel Helman Koe Ngawati Brad Perry


B: Chris Oliver Josh Mebus Scott Heath

Hb: Scott Carey Michael Phelan Deek Roberts

C: Daniel Esson Brent Christie Jason Kerr

Hf: Brent Forsyth Anthony Close Sam Jasper

F: Shannon Argall Tim Wade Callum Hobbs

Foll: Aaron Chavasse Tim Friend Sam Winfield

Interchange: Ash Pekin, Oliver Braithweight, Damon Folkes, Sam McClure, Bernard Keily, Shaun Gilbert

This story Administrator ready to work first appeared on Nanjing Night Net.

Comments are closed.